The Top NFL Scorers in History – 15 of the Finest Rounded Up

Morton Anderson

The top 15 scorers in the history of the National Football League are listed here. All of the players on this list are placekickers, and the statistics include scoring for regular seasons only.

1. Morten Andersen: 1982–2007: 2,544 Points

Born on the 19th of August 1960 and nicknamed The Great Dane, Morten Andersen is a former NFL kicker and All-American at Michigan’s State University.

2. Gary Anderson: 1982–2004: 2,434 Points

Gary Anderson is a former placekicker for the NFL, and is also the first South African to ever appear in a regular season game for that League. Anderson played in the NFL for a total of 23 seasons with 6 teams.

3. Adam Vinatieri : 1996–present: 2,378 Points

Adam Vinatieri is an American placekicker for the Indianapolis Colts of the NFL.

4. Jason Hanson: 1992–2012: 2,150 Points

Jason Hanson is a retired placekicker who spent the duration of his career of 20 years playing for the NFL’s Detroit Lions.

5. John Carney: 1988–2010: 2,062 Points

John Carney, a retired American football placekicker, was signed by the Cincinnati Bengals in 1987 as a free agent.

6. Matt Stover: 1991–2009: 2,004 Points

As of the start of the NFL’s 2009 season, John “Matt” Stover was the 3rd most accurate kicker in the NFL’s history, and would have been a bettor favourite if the sports betting NZ online facilities that are available now were around in the 2000s.

7. George Blanda: 1949–1975: 2,002 Points

George Blanda played a total of 26 seasons of pro football, the most in this sport’s history, and, at the time of his retirement in 1975 had scored more points than any previous player.

8. Jason Elam: 1993–2009: 1,983 Points

Elam was drafted by the Denver Broncos in the 3rd round of the NFL Draft of 1993, and played for 15 season with that team, spending 2 with the Atlanta Falcons.

9. John Kasay: 1991–2011: 1,970 Points

The Seattle Seahawks drafted John Kasay in the 4th round of the NFL draft of 1991.

10. Sebastian Janikowski : 2000–present: 1,799 Points

Janikowski was born on the 2nd of March 1978, and is an American football placekicker from Poland who plays for the Oakland Raiders.

11. Norm Johnson: 1982–1999: 1,736 Points

Johnson played for the Seattle Seahawks from 1982 to 1990, the Atlanta Falcons from 1991 to 1994, the Pittsburgh Steelers from 1995 – 1998 and the Philadelphia Eagles in 1999.

12. David Akers: 1998–2013: 1,721 Points

Akers played college football in Louisville, and the Atlanta Falcons signed him up in 1997 as an undrafted free agent.

13. Nick Lowery: 1978–1996: 1,711 Points

Nick Lowery got chosen for the Pro Bowl 3 times, and, when he made his retirement official, he had the first ranking in terms of field goal percentage, also holding the record for the most field goals in the history of the NFL.

14. Jan Stenerud: 1967–1985: 1,699 Points

Stenerud is the first pure placekicker that managed to get inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame, and also stands as the 1st Norwegian to ever play in the NFL.

15. Phil Dawson : 1999–present: 1,698 Points

Dawson played for the Cleveland Browns in the period of 1999 to 2012, and is still the record-holder for this franchise for the player to make the most field goals.


Related Posts